Top Recipes of 2013

New Years

Happy 2014!

I hope you had a great New Year’s Eve and was able to celebrate with friends and loved ones. We had an amazing time reminiscing about a wonderful 2013 as well as ringing in the New Year.

2013 was indeed an amazing year for me. My first full year in Chicago, meeting Mike, and starting this blog. Before we kick off 2014, let’s take a quick look back to the top 10 recipes from 2013:

10) Cheesy Zucchini Casserole

This side dish opened my eyes to an acceptable use of Veleeta and saltines. Utilizing pre-made ingredients makes many recipes do-able for everyday cooking. Sometimes it may not be the most natural cooking, but a little bit of those unmentionables never hurt anyone. All in moderation.

Zucchini plate

9) Prosciutto Asparagus Spirals

Continuing with the theme of utilizing pre-made ingredients, this appetizer includes my favorite pre-made ingredient, Puff Pastry. These spirals have only 4 ingredients and are a guaranteed winner for an easy, yet fancy appetizer for a get together.

spirals done

8) Pumpkin Snickerdoodles

Fall is by far my favorite season so every year I am one who fully embraces the use of pumpkin in recipes. Whether in a latte or an addition to traditional snickerdoodle recipes. These were so good I didn’t even remember to take a picture of the cooked end result. They are that good.

IMG_4601

7) Mud Balls

In my opinion, these should be ranked way higher. Maybe it’s the scenario where you have to taste them to realize just how much you’ll be obsessed with this treat. Oreos, cream cheese, graham crackers and chocolate. You can’t go wrong. Omaha people can relate to how good these are. You should probably tell your friends all about them.

IMG_4180

6) Mint Chocolate Chip Cookie Bars

I was surprised by how much I enjoyed these cookie bars. I say cookie bars lightly because the base ingredient is a boxed white cake and not actual cookie dough. Baking is annoying sometimes to me, but this recipe was an easy two-step combine and bake concept. It speaks my language.

IMG_2317

5) Caramel Delight Cupcakes

My friend, Steph from Wandering was the guest blogger for these Girl Scout inspired cupcakes. They are more advanced baking than I normally do, but Steph provided some easy shortcuts at the end to help us cooking-preferred chefs. Also, this post was apart of my first giveaway. (another one coming soon!) It helped Mind, Body & Belly’s Facebook page skyrocket above 100 likes! Have you liked it yet? You probably should, if not.

Isn't this just calling your name?!

4) Two-Step Spinach Dip

My very first recipe on Mind, Body & Belly! This dip is my ace in the hole for a quick appetizer. The original post explains it best: “Not only is it easy to make, it’s easy on your wallet, easy to travel, easy to impress, and even easy on your waistline! Let’s face it, if this dip was a woman, it would probably hit on you… Yup, it’s that easy.”

two-step spinach dip final

3) Apple Tarte Tatin

Another easy, yet fancy recipe. This apple pie like dessert is perfect for a small dinner party since it is made in single-serve dishes. These dishes are great to have in the back of the cupboard. You’ll find many, many uses for them. They look great, are dishwasher, microwave, and oven safe and are only $2.99 at Bed, Bath and Beyond! This helped boost MB&B’s Facebook page. Again, have you liked it yet? You probably should, if not.

Apple Tarte Tatin

2) Crock-Pot Pot Roast

My dad was a guest blogger for this traditional meat lovers post. Though this might actually be the last time my dad has used his crock pot… Either way, I know he enjoyed this recipe since it came along with handy tricks like using a crock-pot liner for easy cleanup.

Pot Roast Finish

 

And the #1 recipe from 2013 is….

1) Fat Tuesday King’s Cake Rolls

This as #1 doesn’t surprise me too much. They turned out super pretty and my sister made her first appearance on MB&B with this post! Pretty desserts are the internet’s favorite food, especially around the holidays. I mentioned this in my last two posts, Holiday Candy Bark and Holiday Marshmallow Pops. These rolls came out divine and reminded me of my days serving at a Cajun restaurant.

King's Cake Rolls Final display

Here’s to a GREAT 2014!

 

One thought on “Top Recipes of 2013

Leave a Reply

