Good Old-Fashioned Pancakes

My birthday was last month and it was one of the best ones in recent memory. Mike and I had a Halloween-themed party and my best friend, Lauren, surprised me for the weekend!

IMG_5065I’m not sure if it’s because I live with Mike now or that I’m getting older, but I have been waking up earlier and earlier. In the past, I’d sleep till almost lunchtime so I would often skip breakfast on Saturdays. Sundays are the best days for going somewhere for brunch when possible.

With Saturdays, I used to not have to worry, but now sometimes we’ve found ourselves searching for something of substance to eat besides eggs.

Throughout time I’ve been gathering so much baking and cooking materials in the pantry, so I did some research and found I had everything for pancakes! I grew up loving pancakes (in the shape of Mickey, and sometimes Minnie, Mouse) so this was perfect!

Good Old-Fashioned PancakesIMG_5058
Recipe from All Recipes

1 1/2 cups flour
3 1/2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp salt
1 tbsp white sugar
1 1/4 cups milk
1 egg
3 tbsp butter, melted

IMG_5062In a bowl, mix the flour, baking powder, salt, and sugar. Make a little hole/dent in the middle of the dry ingredients and add the milk, egg and melted butter. This little hole will make it a bit easier to mix. Using a hand-mixer or a whisk, mix the ingredients until smooth.

Spray some pam on a pan over medium heat. Pour some batter onto the pan. I used a 1/3 cup measurer to scoop the batter. You don’t need to fill it to the brim; you probably just want a 1/4 of a cup of batter for each pancake.

IMG_5060Pour the batter onto the pan and using a spatula, flip the pancake over after a minute or so. You can keep checking it if needed. You’ll want both sides light brown.

I think the hardest part of making pancakes is that typically you can only make one or two in a pan at a time. You might end up serving cold pancakes.

To avoid this, I turn my oven on to the warm setting (or the lowest setting) and put an over-safe platter or plate in to hold the pancakes till I’m done with the entire batch. Your plates may say on the bottom if they are over-safe if you aren’t sure.

IMG_5064Finally, serve the pancakes with some maple syrup. Microwave it, if you can. It makes it much better!

Also, if you like, spread butter on the pancake before digging in. I’m not a big fan, but I know a lot of people that would recommend it.

I’m sure Lauren would agree that these pancakes are a great breakfast when you have company. It’s all pretty easy and chances are you have all the ingredients already! If not, go get the one or two you’re missing and you’ll have enough for a few batches that will cover you for a couple of lazy Saturday mornings.  With or without company!

IMG_5063

3 thoughts on “Good Old-Fashioned Pancakes

Leave a Reply

