Cream of Chicken Soup Casserole

In August, I moved in with my boyfriend, Mike. Now that we have had a chance to set up the apartment (for the most part), my dad came to visit recently.IMG_4603

His upcoming visit got me thinking about him doing another guest post sometime soon. We got him a crock pot a few years back so I forced him into using it to be a guest blogger. You can find the result here: Crock-Pot Pot Roast.

When I was trying to come up with a possible post recipe for him, I thought back to my childhood. I was thinking what meals remind me of growing up at during my time at his house? Well, I thought of a few meals:

1)     Turkey dinner with corn and mashed potatoes… From Boston Market. My parents got divorced when I was in fourth grade so we did frequent Boston Market often. I loved it! Hell, I still love it! Boston Market is a quick home-cooked meal. I usually got sliced turkey or the meatloaf. (I’m obsessed with meatloaf, but we’ll leave that for another post.)

2)     Beans on Toast. Yes, beans, like baked beans, on toast for breakfast. My dad’s British. This meal normally is accompanied by tea. Many of his meals are.

3)     Cheddar on Toast. I suppose you can count this as my version of odd breakfast food. I don’t really eat this anymore, but growing up, I often started my days with a think piece of sharp cheddar cheese melted under the broiler on a piece of toast… well, two pieces of toast with a slice of cheese each. I guess you can say I ate an intense grilled cheese almost every morning…. No wonder I have cellulite.

4)     Beef Pot Roast. This was a staple in my dad’s house. And I’m sure it still is even though my sister and I don’t live there anymore. My dad is a meat and potatoes guy, but the European version. He loves pot roast and used to make it often…. And every time, I’d have to remind him I don’t like beef. The same thing occurred often with well-done pork chops. I still love him though.

5)     Cream of Chicken Soup casserole. This was my dad’s answer to my preference for chicken.

Cream of Chicken Soup Casserole
Recipe adapted from my dad’s kitchenIMG_4584

3-4 cans of condensed cream of chicken soup
4 chicken breasts
Carrots
Snap peas
Potatoes
Onions
Salt & pepper

I’m not sure what exactly to call this recipe. It’s one of those recipes where there’s a million versions of it out there and honestly, it barrels down to the fact that you don’t even nee    d a recipe for it. It’s so easy and once you hear about it, you can remember how to make it from the top of your head. It takes about 10 minutes to prepare, which is great, but still take a while (about 45 minutes) to cook.

IMG_4586Preheat the oven to 375 degrees. In bottom of a 13×9 pan, lay out the raw salt and peppered chicken. Sprinkle our veggies around the chicken. You can really use whatever veggies you’d like.

I only had carrots and snap peas at the time. I highly recommend adding potatoes in. They add a heartier element to the dish.

Then open the cans of the condensed cream of chicken soup. Do not follow the directions on the can! No water needed! If you like mushrooms, you can do this whole meal with cream of mushroom soup or a mixture of both chicken and mushroom soups.IMG_4598

Pour the condensed soup into the pan, over the veggies, potatoes, and chicken. I ended up using 4 cans, but it might be depend on your saucy-level preference. You definitely want a good amount so that the majority of the veggies are able to be mostly immersed.

Put the pan in the oven for 45 minutes. About half way through, turn the chicken over and mix up the veggies a bit. They will get soft from the juices.

IMG_4602Once it’s at about 45 minutes, check the chicken by slicing one open at the thickest part to see the doneness. If it looks about done, pour a layer of cheddar cheese at the top. Switch the oven to a high broiler and pop the pan back in. You’ll wanna keep an eye on it while the cheese melts. I’d suggest removing once you’ve got it all melted and that orange-brown color in parts.

The end result for this mean almost becomes kind of like a chicken pot pie without the crust. I love to freedom with this dish and the ease in preparing it. We all have our version of comfort food and this is one of mine. Enjoy!

One thought on “Cream of Chicken Soup Casserole

  1. Grilled cheese on toast can only be appreciated if prior to broiling it a sprinkling of red pepper is put over the cheese….Tangi flavoring becomes an understatement…what’s wrong with beans on toast?? It’s next to mothers milk In my country and as for the chicken casserole aka and better described by me as “chicken in soup” it is totally yummy and almost takes on a king of stewish type of dish by the time you load it up with potato carrots onions peas and anything else that meets your fancy……and then topped off with that crusty broiled cheddar coating….great meal and well remembered Vicki………..welcome to come home and have anyone of these, my favorite dishes with, me anytime – Daddy!

Leave a Reply

