Pumpkin Snickerdoodles

It’s here! Yeah, you know what I’m talking about. FALL!

On that note, this post obviously includes pumpkin.IMG_4601

Fall is one of my favorite times of the year. No sweating, no shivering, and a new season of food! I’m not sure why fall always gets me so excited, at least over the other seasons. They each have something to offer. Winter brings holidays. Spring brings flowers. Summer brings beaches. But fall seems to always take the W as far as my favorite goes.  Maybe it’s because I really hate sweating. Maybe it’s because I really like wearing boots. Maybe it’s because I love football. While each of these definitely make up a part of my love for fall, I know it’s largely because of my love of pumpkin.

So fall is finally here! (Although I feel like St. Patrick’s Day was only a month ago) So prepare yourself for many pumpkin recipes to come! And for you strange people who don’t like pumpkin, I’ll make sure to have other fall ingredient favorites as well. 🙂

Pumpkin Snickerdoodles
Recipe from Sweat Pea’s Kitchen

2 3/4 c all-purpose flour
2 tsp cream of tartarIMG_4590
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice
1 3/4 c sugar, divided
2 sticks unsalted butter, softened
1 egg
3/4 c pumpkin puree
2 tbsp ground cinnamon

Adding cinnamon and sugar to a pumpkin recipe makes everything just that much better. Combine the flour, cream or tarter, baking soda, salt and pumpkin pie spice in a small bowl.  A note about cream of tarter, I assume you probably won’t use this often, but it’s the kind of spice that comes in the small short bottle, which means it isn’t that expensive luckily.IMG_4595

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees. In a larger mixing bowl, add in the butter. Next you’ll ‘cream’ the butter. This basically means add in 1 ½ cups of sugar slowly while using a mixer on medium speed. You’ll see it becomes a creamy mixture after a while (2 minutes of mixing). Then add the egg and beat at medium speed for 30 seconds. Next, beat in the pumpkin puree. Finally, add in the dry ingredients from the other bowl gradually. Mix it all together on a lower speed

At this point, you’ve made a moist pumpkin cookie batter, but to make them snickerdoodles, you’ll need to mix the remaining sugar and cinnamon together in a small bowl to start. Now the original recipe for these cookies and normal snickerdoodle recipes tells you to roll a ball of dough in the cinnamon sugar mixture, but I had issues with this. I touched the dough and it stuck to my hand like it was cake or brownie batter.

Since the original recipe told me to roll the ball, I figure I missed a step. But I didn’t. So who knows. IMG_4596

But I was able to make it work! I just spooned the dough on to cookie sheets then sprinkled the cinnamon sugar on top. I gave the sugar a small pa    t to make sure it stuck. Put the cookies into the oven for 10 to 12 minutes.

Even though I had a bit of trouble near the end, these cookies were such a success! The cake-like dough turned into a fluffy, almost spongy, moist cookie. I missed a big step as far as photos goes: I forgot to take a picture of the finished cookie! Luckily co-workers were to enjoy them and inhale all of them in under an hour.

Pumpkin Recipe #1. Check!IMG_4599

7 thoughts on “Pumpkin Snickerdoodles

  1. Pingback: Top Recipes of 2013 | Mind, Body & Belly

  2. Those look amazing! I really love pumpkin, which is quite usual for the UK. Here we normally just carve them at Halloween and the thought of eating them, for most people, is a little weird. However, I am quite adventurous when it comes to food and I have been making pumpkin pies at this time of year for a while. Oh my goodness, delicious! I have also been known to make pumpkin chutney which was lovely. I would love to give your recipe a try but might have to adapt it. I have never seen Pumpkin Spice here so I would have to try normal Mixed Sweet Spice. Butter doesn’t come in sticks here either so I would need to look up how much that is! I will enjoy the experiment though. 🙂

Leave a Reply

