Fajita Seasoning

I can’t believe it is September already! I have so many summer recipes left! Until next year…

Well last month was a very busy month and felt like it flew by! Many of you have read about my boyfriend, Mike, before in previously posts. We moved in together last month and have been hanging towel racks ever since. Well, at least it feels that way.

The move came at a very crazy time for both of us as far as workload goes. It’s the busiest time of year at both of our jobs. I work in digital marketing and one of my clients is an office supply store so back to school season is a crazy one. Mike is a teacher at a school in the city. This year, he is teaching 5th and 6th grades for the first time. Being new grade levels and topics, there has been a lot of prepping and planning going on for him.

The Monday after Labor Day was the first day of school for Mike’s school aka a very stressful day for Mike. So that night, I decided to make one of his favorite meals, Fajitas.

Easy Chicken Fajitas
Recipe from My Recipes

2 tbsp olive oilIMG_4505
3 boneless, chicken breast strips
fajita Seasoning (below), divided
½  cup water
onions, slivered
bell pepper, slivered
1 tsp garlic, minced
tortillas
cheese, salsa, guacamole, black beans, Mexican rice

Seasoning:
1 tbsp cornstarchIMG_4497
1 ½ – 2 tbsp chili powder
1 tsp salt
1 tsp chicken bouillon granules
1 tsp sweet paprika
1 tsp garlic powder
½ tsp onion powder
½  tsp ground cumin
½  tsp black pepper

Surprise! The main meat here is chicken! Normally when we go out to get Mexican, Mike orders steak fajitas, but I know how to cook chicken the best. Honestly, steak is somewhat of a mystery to me. SO chicken it is.

One of the main reasons I decided to follow through on this recipe was because I realized I basically already had everything for this seasoning. I’ve never made fajita seasoning before so chances are you might have all or most of this list in your cupboard as well.

The great thing about fajita recipes is that it is barely a recipe. All of the above is a good guideline of how to include in your fajitas, but not necessary. Well maybe the chicken and actual fajita is what makes a chicken fajita, but you get the idea.

IMG_4500Start off by making the seasoning. Combining a lot of powder seasoning. I left out onion powder since Mike isn’t a fan. The one item I had to buy was chicken bouillon granules, which I understood it as one of those cubes of powdered chicken broth. I suppose I was half right. It comes also as simply powder/pre-cubed so I had to muddle my cube with my pizza slicer handle end. It worked.

With a bit of oil, put the chicken strips in a heated pan. When they are about halfway done, add in half of the seasoning and the water. Stir a bit so it’s mixed and the chicken is covered.  You’ll see it comes out to be a brownish seasoning.

Remove the chicken from the pan and clean it out a bit to get any seasoning that has stuck to the bottom off. Then in the same pan, add in oil and your veggies. I just had peppers. Mike usually vetoes onions and since it was his first day of school dinner, I conceded in that discussion.

IMG_4502After about 4 minutes, add the garlic and remaining seasoning in to the pan. I added in some water and put the lid on to help with the softening of the peppers. I believe adding in seasoning on the veggies is what took our fajitas to the next level. It really made sure the flavors were throughout the entire dish.

The rest is really up to you! The toppings of your choice. For a slightly healthier version choose whole-wheat tortillas and black beans. Our spread consisted of cheese, salsa, black beans, Mexican rice, and guacamole.

I’m really glad we tried out this seasoning. For a few reasons. First, the seasoning was so simple and basically free. Second, the set up was a fun one. It essentially turned into a toppings bar. A bit more dishes but worth it. It’d be great to help with getting your kids excited about dinner. Third, it cleared my sinuses. I’ll admit my hand was a bit too heavy on the chili powder. You should have seen it… I had to wash my lips afterwards. It was that bad, but the flavors we’re exactly what I was looking for in a Mexican ‘you made it through the first day of school’ dinner.

IMG_4506

One thought on “Fajita Seasoning

  1. Nice!!!!! Hope the towels look good on the towels racks!!!! Hope Mike has a good school year. Joe taught 5th grade for 31 yrs. Think that’s where his hair went—ha ha. Cathy Date: Tue, 10 Sep 2013 16:24:37 +0000 To: jcruocco@hotmail.com

Leave a Reply

