Perfect Cheeseburgers

I recently read an article about how to make the perfect burger. I learned a lot. What did I learn do you ask? WELL, I learned that chances are you are neither right nor wrong with your flavoring choices.

IMG_4148The article told me that letting the meat speak for itself was the best route. It recommended not adding any special ingredients like Worcestershire sauce or spices. So this basically goes against what I’ve been following when making my burgers so far. With Doug’s Burgers, you add everything and its cousin to it, which results in a really flavorful burger.

In the end after reading the article, the main lesson I learn was to work with what you’ve got. If you have elements in the cupboard that would be good addition or are willing to purchase some items to add pizzazz, then go ahead! BUT if you find yourself at 2 pm on a Saturday prepping for a 3 pm cookout and you don’t have much beyond salt and pepper, you’ll be ok.

Perfect Cheeseburgers
Recipe adapted from The Pioneer Woman

3 lbs 80/20 ground beef
1/3 c heavy cream
4 dashes Worcestershire sauce
2 tsp (or more) chipotle chili powderIMG_4130
1 tsp garlic powder
1 tsp salt
½ tsp pepper
6 buns
6 slices of cheddar

I like to think this recipe for burgers is a happy medium between Doug’s Burgers  and pattied meat. I was mostly excited to do this recipe because cream was one of the ingredients. Cream with meat? Hmmm.

Start off with the meat in a mixing bowl. Make sure you buy 80/20. A little bit of fat goes a long way regarding flavor with all burgers. Add the cream, chipotle chili powder (or a few dashes of Tabasco sauce), garlic powder, Worcestershire sauce, salt and pepper to the bowl. Now dig in and mix it all together with your hands. Try not to over work the meat. Just a good mixing.

IMG_4131The best way to create the patties is to start with a ball then flatten. Use your thumb to create the walls or edge of the patties. Personally, I haven’t ever done this, but I’ve heard the trick to prevent the patties to getting too tall during cooking, you want to make an indention in the middle of the patty. Use your thumb to make this small divot in the middle.

For these burgers (and I suppose all), they can be cooked on the grill or a skillet. If using a skillet, put it over medium-high heat with some melted butter to prevent sticking. Cook  on skillet or grill to your liking.IMG_4133

Two additional tidbits that I beg you to follow. First one: Melt the cheese on the burger on the grill! Yes, the burger will be hot and will probably melt the cheese a little bit, but it just won’t cut it! Second one: Buy good buns. They have so many varieties out there and they make burgers much better!

Unfortunately, I ate the burger before I thought to get a picture of it… But I think that says a lot about how good they turned out to be! Enjoy!

IMG_4149 (2)

Leave a Reply

