Grilled Honey-Soy Chicken Kabobs

As someone who isn’t big into red meat, grilling leaves few options for me.  Luckily, I like burgers now. I didn’t used to until about 10 years ago though.

As you can imagine, chicken has been a large part of my grilling diet. The only thing is that a plain old chicken breast thrown on the grill isn’t so exciting. My go to is a bunch of barbeque sauce to help it out. Sauces typically make things better. But if certain foods are made right from the start, no sauce should be needed.

Grilled Honey-Soy Chicken KabobsIMG_4147

chicken breasts
bell peppers
onion
mushrooms
garlic
soy sauce
honey
salt & pepper

The key with most meat is the marinade. It is what helps keep it moist after being cooked. With these Honey-Soy Chicken Kabobs, I have a pretty lenient recipe for the marinade in the sense that I actually didn’t measure anything out.

The kabobs consist of the chicken, bell papers, mushrooms, and onions. Not only with the marinade, the recipe is quite lax for these ingredients as well. You can add in any sort of veggies (or even fruit!) that you would like.

IMG_4140You’ll first cut these up into kabob-sized pieces. Try to keep each piece roughly the same size. This will help with even cooking.

In a large chip-type bowl, mix all the pieces together. Add in a spoonful of garlic, some salt & pepper, and even parts of honey and soy sauce.

Stir so each piece is coated. You’ll want enough liquids in there so when you spoon the pieces away, you can see some sauce pool on the bottom.

Keep this marinating for as long as you can. My recommendation is 2 hours. Try to stir it every 20 or 30 minutes. I split the veggies and chicken in different bowls since I was making veggie skewers for a vegetarian friend. They can be combined into one bowl if able.

For the skewers, you can get metal ones or wooden. The wooden ones are available in the store now for pretty cheap. The only extra step with that version is that the skewers will need to soak in water for about 20 minutes to make sure they don’t burn up on the grill.IMG_4145

When assembling the skewers, you’ll have to find a happy medium with the spacing. Don’t cram them all too close together or they won’t cook. I usually fit about 3 or 4 pieces of chicken on each skewer.

Since I have to transport my food to the rooftop of my building, I put the skewers in a baking dish to carry. It’s a good fit usually for a lot of skewers.

There will probably some marinade on the bottom of the bowl and pan left over that you’ll need to throw away.

The skewers themselves should take about 15 minutes on the grill. Time will vary depending on your grill’s temp. Feel free to cut into one of the bigger piece of chicken you can spot to confirm doneness.

I’ve fallen in love with this marinade so much; in fact, I’ve used it on salmon before too in an earlier post. I think you’ll be extremely pleased with how it tastes on chicken off the grill as well. Enjoy!IMG_4143

2 thoughts on “Grilled Honey-Soy Chicken Kabobs

Leave a Reply

