Grilled Pineapple

Happy Fourth of July week! I assume most of you have some fun activities planned for the weekend celebration. Here’s to hoping for good weather! I heard someone say the other day that the 4th of July normally marks the beginning of the end of summer….IMG_3765

Summer? Oh, is it here? I must have missed its arrival. Even if it has arrived in the room, I feel like it’s hiding in the corner sipping out of a solo cup waiting for a good buzz before joining the party. I have one thing to say to this: Chug, chug, chug!!! If this week’s celebration doesn’t get the summer started, I’m going to join it in the corner, except I’ll be crying in the fetal position.

Grilled Pineapple

1 pineapple, cored
3 tbsps olive oil
1 tsp honey
Paprika

IMG_3761One of the staples of summertime is grilling. I’ll definitely be doing a couple of posts on this. I’ll warn you that all of it won’t be meat, but yes, some of it will be!

To start, we’ll grill some fruit, specifically pineapple. I’m a fan of pineapple, but I actually know some people who don’t like it. To those of you who aren’t as big of fans, I’ll say try it grilled. It is really cool when heating up fruits because many of them actually become sweeter when cooked.

There’s so many ways to grill pineapple. Obviously you can do it plain and I’m sure it’d taste just fine! The route I decided to take was using paprika. Paprika isn’t really hot spicy. While there are many different kinds of paprika, in general is more of a smoky, sweet spice.

IMG_3756Cut the cored pineapple in half lengthwise, then cut again in slices making plank-shaped pieces. Throw the slices into a bowl and add in some olive oil, a bit of honey, and some of the paprika.

For any combination of ingredients with this kind of recipe, a measure spoon isn’t really needed. You can definitely eyeball your additions pretty easily. Although, I will note that I eyeballed too much honey for my version. I think 1 teaspoon will be plenty (or no honey at all) since pineapple plus paprika gives a good amount of sweetness to the recipe.

Give the slices a good stir in the bowl until they are coated with all the ingredients. These can sit while you heat up the grill, maybe give an extra stir just before placing them on the grill. This Sunday had high 70s and lots of sun, which is another reason why I decided to grill out, but we couldn’t seem to get the grills lit! One was flat out broken and the other was simply being stubborn. So we headed back to my apartment to settle for my grill pan.

Once your grill (pan) is hot, place each slice on the grill so that it spans a few grates. You’ll be able to get some great marks on each piece. At this point I’d suggest giving the non-grilled side a small extra powdering of paprikaIMG_3763.

After about 2 minutes, flip each piece. You can always flip them over again if you want them to sit a little longer, but you may get double grill marks, which won’t be as pretty. Remember our priorities here, people!

That’s all you need to do! If serving them as a side, remember that they will only take 3-4 minutes really. There are some many other variations for this recipe. As far as the liquid topping options go, you can add a bit of honey, lime or lemon juice, olive oil or you can pour melted butter over each piece as well.

Instead of a side, you can choose to utilize this for a dessert. I think cinnamon and butter on grilled pineapple served with vanilla ice cream is definitely the next variation I’ll be trying! Have fun with it! You probably have everything you need for seasoning in your cabinet already and your grocery store most likely has pineapple cut and ready for grilling! Enjoy!IMG_3764

4 thoughts on “Grilled Pineapple

  1. Are you going to make the dessert version on Saturday? I’m sure Doug could share a grill! You probably could do it on the Weber Jr. or the Coleman Road Trip Grill.

    ________________________________

      • yummy! we are HUGE fans of grilled banana smores here! already have done them multiple times this summer, looking forward to seeing if we do it the same way!

        July 4th, the beginning of the end of summer?!?!?! hahahahaha you silly northerner! we have like another 3 months of summer left!

Leave a Reply

