Cheesy Zucchini Casserole

Zucchini plateThere are foods that intrigue me. Often times it’s fancy foods like sweetbread that my friend, Jake, introduced me to this month. Sweetbread is essentially fried glands of a cow. Yeah, I know it sounds nasty, but it’s intriguing! So I tried it, checked it off the list, and now probably won’t have it again for a very long time.

The other side of the spectrum for intriguing foods is the every day items worked into a recipe. A great example of this is Taco Bell’s Doritos Locos Taco. Using Doritos as the shell? Brilliant! Another example is using frozen creamed spinach within the Spinach Dip from my first post. I mean, we live in a fast-paced world, who has the time to make everything from scratch these days? Beyond the time, who has the patience? I know I don’t. I’ll get HANGRY. (That’s a mixture of hungry and angry for those of you that aren’t familiar.)

Cheesy Zucchini Casserole
Recipe from Taste of Home

3-5 medium to large zucchinis, cubed
1 cup diced Velveeta
2 tbsps butter
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 tsp pepper
1/3 cup crushed saltines (about 10 crackers)

I Zucchini startchose to try today’s recipe because I just couldn’t comprehend that the ingredients would be a good combination. Cheese, zucchini, and crunchiness? Yes. Velveeta, zucchini, and saltines? Yeah, I don’t know…

Looking back, I’m pretty sure the only time I have every eaten Velveeta is in dip form on a Superbowl Sunday. So when I went to the store, naturally, I went to the cheese and dairy section. I mean, right? Wrong. This ‘cheese’ is located in the pasta aisle or by the crackers with its good friend, Cheez Whiz.

When you get home, pre-heat the oven to 400 degrees. Cube the zucchini and place it in a saucepan with some water.  Cook it over medium-ish heat until tender 7-10 minutes. When I say tender, I track this sometimes by stabbing easily with a fork and you’ll see each piece become slightly translucent.

zucchini meltedzucchini cheeseNext, drain the water from the pan then put in the cheese, butter, salt, and pepper. The cheese will melt after a few minutes. Mine was a bit more watery than I would have hoped so make sure you drain the zucchini well prior to adding the cheese and such. Maybe remove the zucchini and use a strainer then put it back to the pan.

Finally, transfer the mixture to a baking dish. I used a disposable casserole dish, but if you don’t have one, a normal cake pan would work. Crush up the saltine crackers. I kept the pieces somewhat big to keep crunch in the end. Sprinkle the crackers on top of the mixture to make a crust covering the cheese and zucchini.

Pop it in the over for 10-15 minutes or until the crackers are lightly browned. Then enjoy! I think you’ll be surprised. I know I was! I made sure to have co-workers try all the left overs I had. Give it a shot!zucchini browned

3 thoughts on “Cheesy Zucchini Casserole

  1. Pingback: Top Recipes of 2013 | Mind, Body & Belly

Leave a Reply

