A Well-Done Steak Cooked Medium Rare

Guest blog post by my friend, Paul! I figured I should throw in a steak post for you carnivores 🙂

I keep track of Mind, Body & Belly because I love the recipes and I know Vicki is an incredible chef. Unfortunately she has not yet come around to the fact that red meat is the beez-neez, and I was honored when she said I could guest-write for a steak recipe. Steak is remarkably easy to cook, doesn’t take a lot of prep time, doesn’t need a complicated marinade, and can be cooked to your desired temperature in under twenty minutes.

First step, get yourself a good steak. I know a lot of you readers are from Omaha, so here’s my plug for Omaha Steaks, they put out a great product and have great package deals, I’ve got some of their steaks and hot dogs (they call them “Gourmet Franks”, to hell with that, no one will be more gourmet than Chicago’s Vienna Beef) in my fridge right now. And I have to say that the steak pictured here is an organic one. The best steak of my life was at Bobby Flay’s in Atlantic City, I’ll say that this organic steak was the second best. Yea, it’s more expensive, but I feel it’s worth it.

finishedSo you’ve got your steak now. A marinade is really the most complicated decision you have to make. You can do things with Worcestershire, liquid smoke, , alcohol, various spices and more, that’s a decision you make based on your taste. At the least, throw a little oil into a bowl with some salt and pepper, and brush the oil generously onto the steak.

You’ll want to be doing this while the steak is at room temperature, and you can be heating up your oven and skillet during. In between brushing it down and everything heating up, take this chance to drink a beer.

uncookedWhat’s that? Oven? Yes indeed, I’ve found that the best way to get consistency is to cook your steak in an oven using the broiler. But that’ll look weird? Not if you sear both sides on a skillet first! You’ll see a cast-iron in my pictures, these things are cheap and are the absolute best for an even heating, but any skillet will do. I do my steaks medium-rare. I used to order them well-done, but when I was a senior in college, a handful of my fraternity brothers took me out and forced me to have it medium-rare. We’re talking a mediocre steak from a chain restaurant, but it was the best I had ever had in my life at that point. Cooking a steak past medium results in all the flavor going, so give it a shot. I’ve had rare, and even blue steaks before, I like medium rare.

after sear

After Searing

So anyways, throw the steak onto a heated skillet over high heat, thirty seconds on each side . Then move your cast-iron (or if you’re using a different skillet, into an oven-safe dish) into the oven heated to a broil. Cook for two minutes, flip it, cook for two more. During this time, my buddies and I decided to take a few shots of cinnamon whiskey, that’s optional, but I recommend it. Take the steak out, cover it with aluminum foil, and let it rest for about 4-5 minutes. This is a good time to shotgun a beer and chest-bump with your bros.

Sides? Whatever you like. I like the Potatoes au Gratin from last week’s post, but if I had asparagus, I’d be using the Roasted Parmesan Asparagus recipe. A double of bourbon (Makers Mark or Blanton’s are a good bet) is an excellent drink alongside.bourbon

For reference, if you have a meat thermometer, here are the temperatures for the levels of doneness.

Rare – 140F, Medium rare – 145F, Medium – 160F, Well Done (I shouldn’t even be posting this because you should never cook it this far) – 170F.

If you don’t have a thermometer, there’s a test you can do with your fingers, but it takes a few times to get this right. I tried to write this out, but this illustration will do a better job. Enjoy!

One thought on “A Well-Done Steak Cooked Medium Rare

  1. Yum!-Love a good steak. I have had steak prepared this way-great! Thanks for the guest write up. Also like the double bourbon along side!!!!!

Leave a Reply

