Mint Chocolate Chip Cookie Bars

Since it’s a holiday week (and a fun holiday for that matter), I’ve decided to do a bonus post for this week! Specifically on sweets! (Insert happy co-workers image here)

One of my favorite blogs I follow is Plain Chicken. It normally is my kind of recipes and food and that’s all I need to keep me happy.  I wanted to highlight a St. Patty’s themed treat she’s blogged about and try it out myself.

Mint Chocolate Cookie Chip BarsIMG_2310
Recipe from Plain Chicken

1 box yellow cake mix
2 eggs
1 tsp vanilla extract
5 tbsp melted butter
2 tbsp milk
1 cup Andes mint chips
1 cup dark chocolate chips

IMG_2312I was intrigued by this recipe because it’s not made with cookie dough.  A box of cake mix is the base for it, which is much easier than making everything from scratch. Again, my kind of recipes. Another reason I wanted to try this out was because they’d look pretty with the green poking through from the Andes Candies chip. Actually, better reason was the fact that it uses Andes Candies!

The steps are pretty simple actually. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees and spray pam in a normal cake pan. Then mix all the ingredients and put in pan… Still with me? Good. Keep up… Bake for 22-25 minutes or until lightly golden. Let the “cake” cool completely then cut into bars.

Ummm yeah that’s it! Great, isn’t it? It’s light and fluffy and isn’t a cake or a cookie. It’s a cakie? Yeah, we’ll go with that.

Tastes AMAZING! Love them. Unfortunately, the green in the kind of Andes Candies chips I found wasn’t prominent enough, the color didn’t really show through, but I still am in love with the taste. I’ll definitely be making these again!IMG_2317

3 thoughts on “Mint Chocolate Chip Cookie Bars

  1. Pingback: Top Recipes of 2013 | Mind, Body & Belly

Leave a Reply

